Bihar cabinet expansion to take place today, here’s what to expect


Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is all set to expand his cabinet on Tuesday. Recently elected Legislative Council member Shahnawaz Hussain, Samrat Chaudhary, Subhash Singh, Alok Ranjan, Pramod Kumar, Janaram, Narayan Prasad, Nitin Naveen, and Neeraj Singh Bagu are front runners for ministerial berths from the BJP quota.

Former Minister Shravan Kumar can once again be made a Minister by the JD-U, apart from Lacey Singh, Sanjay Jha, and Madan Sahni. Former Bahujan Samaj Party MLA Jama Khan, Independent Sumit Kumar Singh, Jayant Raj and Sunil Kumar are also likely inductees.

Bihar Governor Fagu Chauhan will administer the oath to the new Ministers at 12.30 pm. It will be the first Cabinet expansion after Nitish became the Chief Minister for another term in November 2020.

At present, Bihar has 15 ministers, including the chief minister. In the House of 243 MLAs, the cabinet can have 36 ministers.

On November 16, Janata Dal (United) president Nitish Kumar was sworn in as Chief Minister of Bihar for the fourth straight term at a ceremony which saw attendance by Union Home minister Amit Shah and BJP chief Jagat Prakash Nadda.

Kumar Janata Dal (United) (JD-U)] formed the government under the umbrella of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), in alliance with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM).

BJP leaders Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi were also sworn in as Deputy Chief Ministers of Bihar, replacing Sushil Kumar Modi who had been Nitish Kumar’s deputy for 15 years.

Governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath of office to Kumar, along with a 14-member council of ministers. The NDA has secured a 125-seat majority in the 243-seat strong Bihar Legislative Assembly of which BJP won on 74 seats, JD(U) on 43 while eight seats were won by two other NDA constituents.

The RJD, on the other hand, emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats while the Congress only won 19 seats.

(With agency inputs)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *